News Flash Home
The original item was published from 9/1/2020 10:21:45 AM to 9/1/2020 10:27:33 AM.

News Flash

County of Wetaskiwin News

Posted on: July 31, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Oil & Gas Assessment Model Review


The Government of Alberta is considering a change to the assessment model for oil and gas wells and pipelines. While we understand that these changes are intended to enhance the competitiveness of the oil and gas industry, they will have serious ramifications and potentially extreme negative consequences on the sustainability of our municipality and smaller businesses in the industry. If these changes are approved, residents and other commercial property owners will be responsible for subsidizing a property tax break for the oil and gas industry. Changing the assessment model is inequitable and unfair, as it places the entire burden for an industrial tax break onto municipalities, without guaranteeing that savings would be reinvested in Alberta.

The County of Wetaskiwin has written a letter to the Premier expressing our many concerns with these proposed changes. The following letter and fact sheet are being sent to all County residents and businesses to inform them of the potential impacts of these changes to our County. Please consider adding your voice to this matter. 

The Rural Municipalities of Alberta (RMA), on behalf of all rural municipalities, reviewed the information provided by the Government and analyzed the impacts thoroughly. In response to the proposed changes, RMA issued an Outcomes Summary and a Position Statement.  They have also provided a prediction of the impact that each scenario will have on County of Wetaskiwin.

The Provincial Government is accepting input on the proposed assessment models from municipalities and other interested stakeholders until mid August. A template letter is available for you to use to send to our MLAs (Rick Wilson and Jason Nixon). Please feel free to edit this template letter to reinforce your own personal concerns.

Provincial Contact Information: 

Name/ Title



Honourable Jason Kenney, Premier


Honourable Kaycee Madu, Minister of Municipal Affairs


Honourable Rick Wilson, Minister of Indigenous Relations, MLA for Maskwacîs-Wetaskiwin


Honourable Jason Nixon, Minister of Environment and Parks, MLA for Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre


Read Reeve Van de Kraats full letter...
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in County of Wetaskiwin News


FCSS - Pin Pals Bowling

Posted on: June 20, 2024
Copy of Open House Ad Mailout

Land Use Bylaw Review Open Houses

Posted on: June 7, 2024
Land Sale Tender

Land for Sale by Tender

Posted on: June 13, 2024
June 2024 EP

Emergency Preparedness Resources

Posted on: June 12, 2024
Program Guide News Flash

FCSS - Community Program Guide

Posted on: May 27, 2024
Girls Volleyball Camp

U of A Girls Volleyball Camp

Posted on: June 1, 2024 | Last Modified on: May 9, 2024
Home ALONE - August

FCSS - Home Alone Courses

Posted on: May 20, 2024
County Newsletter


Posted on: April 24, 2024