Fire Services

Protecting Life & Property

The standard of care for fire services is the protection of life and property. The duty of care is to ensure our firefighters are trained and have the proper equipment to fulfill these requirements.
4 firefighters fighting a house fire

Fire Departments

The County of Wetaskiwin includes 5 fire protection areas, which are serviced by 6 different fire departments:

  • Buck Lake / Alder Flats Fire Department
  • East / West Millet Fire Department
  • Mulhurst Bay Fire Department
  • South Pigeon Lake Fire Department
  • Wetaskiwin Rural Fire Department
  • Winfield Fire Department

Capital Equipment Upgrades

All of the fire departments plan and upgrade equipment on a yearly basis; these capital upgrades and new purchases are planned on a 5 year basis. Funding is established with a fire zone mill rate in each Fire Protection Zone (PDF).

Administration & Funding

County fire protection is provided by a cross section of both County departments and agreements for service with departments in other municipalities. The departments are administered by a Board of Directors. In addition to capital costs which include new fire halls, equipment and fire trucks, the County provides an additional annual operational fire grant to each fire department.

User Fees

Effective May 1, 2022, County Residents will be charged for costs related to fire protection up to $10,000 provided that the incident was not cause by gross negligence or in contravention of the Fire Services Bylaw. If gross negligence or contravention of the Bylaw is confirmed, the party responsible will be liable for the entire cost of the incident.

Residents should check with their insurance provider to ensure that their policy includes firefighting insurance to cover firefighting costs up to $10,000 at a minimum.

These charges are authorized by the Fire Services Bylaw.