

County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 BYLAW # 2024/61

A Bylaw of the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 in the Province of Alberta, to provide and establish rules in conducting elections within the jurisdiction of the Municipality.

WHEREAS the *Municipal Government Act* (MGA), RSA 2000 c. M-26, as amended, authorizes Council to delegate certain powers, duties, and functions to the Chief Administrative Officer, under any enactment, which includes the *Local Authorities Election Act*.

AND WHEREAS where Council is required or authorized under the MGA or another enactment to do something by Resolution or do something without specifying that it be done by Bylaw or Resolution, it may be done by Bylaw or Resolution.

AND WHEREAS the *Local Authorities Election Act* (LAEA), RSA 2000 c. L-21, as amended, provides general and necessary procedures for elections by local authorities and permits the local authority to pass a Bylaw for the conduct of such elections.

AND WHEREAS the *Local Authorities Election Act* provides for matters to be within the discretion of elected authorities by Bylaw or by Resolution.

NOW THEREFORE the Council of the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10, in the Province of Alberta, duly assembled, hereby enacts the following:

PART 1 - TITLE

1. This Bylaw shall be cited as the "Election Bylaw".

PART 2 - DEFINITIONS

2. Words and terms used in this Bylaw have the same meaning as defined or provided for in the *Local Authorities Election Act* and in the *Municipal Government Act*.

PART 3 - APPLICATION and INTERPRETATION

- **3.** The LAEA provides that an elected authority may:
 - a. divide the local jurisdiction into Voting Subdivisions;
 - b. authorize the Returning Officer to designate more than one Voting Station for each Voting Subdivision;
 - c. require a candidate to provide a criminal record check upon nomination;
 - d. provide for Institutional Voting; and
 - e. provide for Special Ballots.
- **4.** The MGA provides that:
 - a. Councillors and the Chief Elected Official are elected in accordance with the LAEA; and
 - b. a Council must hold by-elections to fill vacancies on Council and a vacancy of the office of the Chief Elected Official in specified circumstances.
- 5. If a matter related to an Election conducted by the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 is not contemplated by this Bylaw, the matter will be decided by reference to the relevant provisions of the LAEA and decided by unfettered discretion of the Returning Officer.

PART 5 - VOTING SUBDIVISIONS

6. Voting Subdivisions will be established as shown on <u>Appendix "A"</u>, attached to, and forming part of this Bylaw.

PART 6 - ELECTION PROCEDURES

- 7. Provision of Special Ballots:
 - a. Special Ballots shall be provided for electors who meets the requirements prescribed by the LAEA, in the prescribed form in accordance with the LAEA, unless otherwise prescribed by the Returning Officer.





County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 BYLAW # 2024/61

b. Electors eligible for a Special Ballot must request a Special Ballot through the Returning Officer a minimum of fourteen (14) days prior to Election Day.

8. Provision of Criminal Record Check:

a. Upon submission of a Nomination in accordance with the LAEA, a Criminal Record
Check completed by a law enforcement agency in Canada, issued within the past six
(6) months, must be filed for whom the Nomination is for at the sole expense of the
person seeking to be nominated.

9. Provision of Institutional Voting:

- a. The Returning Officer will designate Institutional Voting Stations for eligible electors, who, on Election Day:
 - i. are confined to a treatment center;
 - ii. are a resident in a self-contained housing unit in a lodge accommodation; or
 - iii. are a resident in a supportive living facility.

PART 7 - REPEAL

10. That Bylaw 2013/09 is hereby repealed in its entirety.

PART 8 - REVIEW

11. This Bylaw will be reviewed in the year prior to a General Election.

PART 9 - EFFECTIVE DATE

12. This Bylaw shall come into force upon the date of Third and Final Reading.

READ for the FIRST TIME this	12 ^{tn}	day of	November	, A.D.,	2024
READ for the SECOND TIME this	12 th	day of	November	 , A.D.,	2024
READ for a THIRD and FINAL time this	12 th	day of	November	, A.D.,	2024

ORIGINAL SIGNED

COUNTY REEVE Josh Bishop

ORIGINAL SIGNED

ACAO Jeff Chipley





County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 BYLAW # 2024/61

APPENDIX "A"

In accordance with the *Local Election Authorities Act* (LAEA), the following is the listing of Voting Subdivisions for the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10:

Division 1:

- Malmo Subdivision: South of Township Road 450
- Angus Ridge Subdivision: South of Township Road 460, North of Township Road 450
- Wetaskiwin Subdivision: North of Township 460

Division 2:

- Central Subdivision: East of Coal Lake
- Vang Subdivision: West of Coal Lake, North of Township Road 470
- Wetaskiwin Subdivision: West of Coal Lake, South of Township Road 470

Division 3:

- Lone Ridge Subdivision: West of Highway 2
- Wetaskiwin Subdivision: East of Highway 2

Division 4:

- Porta Bello Subdivision: West of Highway 2
- Millet Subdivision: East of Highway 2

Division 5:

- Mulhurst Subdivision: North of Township Road 470
- Falun Subdivision: South of Township Road 470, East of Range Road 280
- Lakedell Subdivision: South of Township Road 470, West of Range Road 280

Division 6:

- Winfield Subdivision: West of Range Road 33, and South of Township Road 464, West of Range Road 24
- Yeoford Subdivision: East of Range Road 33, North of Township Road 470, and North of Township Road 464, West of Range Road 24
- Battle Lake Subdivision: East of Range Road 24 & South of Township Road 470

Division 7:

- Alder Flats Subdivision: West of Highway 22
- Buck Lake Subdivision: East of Highway 22

