

BYLAW 2021/41 is a bylaw of the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 in the Province of Alberta, for the purpose of establishing an Emergency Advisory Committee.

WHEREAS the Council of the County of Wetaskiwin is responsible for the direction and control of its emergency response and is required, under the Emergency Management Act, Chapter E-6.8, Revised Statutes of Alberta 2000, to appoint an Emergency Advisory Committee; and

WHEREAS it is desirable in the public interest, and in the interests of public safety, that such a committee be appointed and such an agency be established and maintained to carry out Council's statutory powers and obligations under the Emergency Management Act;

NOW THEREFORE the Council of the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10, in the Province of Alberta, duly assembled, hereby enacts as follows:

1. This Bylaw may be cited as the Municipal Emergency Advisory Committee Bylaw.

## 2. **DEFINITIONS:**

- 2.1"Act" means the Emergency Management Act, Chapter E-6.8, Revised Statutes of Alberta 2000;
- 2.2"Council" means the Council of the County of Wetaskiwin;
- 2.3"Director of Emergency Management" means an individual appointed by the local authority to: prepare and coordinate emergency plans and programs for the municipality; act as the director of operations on behalf of the local authority's Emergency Management agency; coordinate all emergency series and other resources used in an emergency; and, perform other related duties.
- 2.4"disaster" means an event that has resulted or may result in serious harm to the safety, health or welfare of people, or in widespread damage to property;
- 2.5"emergency" means a present or imminent event that requires prompt co-ordination of action or special regulation of persons or property to protect the health, safety or welfare of people or to limit damage to property;
- 2.6"exercise" is a simulated emergency in which members of a Municipal Emergency Management Agency perform the tasks that would be expected of them in a real emergency;
- 2.7"Minister" means the Minister charged with administration of the Act;
- 2.8"Municipal Emergency Advisory Committee" means the committee established under this Bylaw;
- 2.9"Municipal Emergency Plan" means the emergency plan prepared by the Director of Emergency Management to coordinate response to an emergency or disaster.

## 3. EMERGENCY ADVISORY COMMITTEE:

- 3.1 The Emergency Advisory Committee shall consist of three (3) Councillors including the Reeve (Chair) and Deputy Reeve, and pertinent staff to act on an administration basis, which includes the Director of Emergency Management, and the Deputy Director of Emergency Management.
- 3.2 The Emergency Advisory Committee shall:



COUNTY OF WETASKIWIN NO.10

Strong Proactive Leadership • Safe Progressive Communities

Bylaw 2021/41

Page 2

- a. Review the Municipal Emergency Plan and related plans and programs on a regular basis;
- Ensure that emergency plans and programs are prepared to address potential emergencies or disasters in the County of Wetaskiwin; and
- c. Advise the Municipal Emergency Management Agency on the status of the Municipal Emergency Plan and related plans and programs annually.

## 4. COUNCIL:

- 4.1 Council shall:
  - a. By yearly resolution, appoint One (1) Councillor as well as the Reeve (Chair) and Deputy Reeve to serve on the Emergency Advisory Committee; and
  - b. Provide for the payment of expenses of the members of the Emergency Advisory Committee.
- 5. That this Bylaw shall repeal Bylaw 2015/46.
- 6. This Bylaw shall come into full force and effect upon passing of the third reading.

READ: First time this 30th day of August, 2021

READ: A Second time this <u>30<sup>th</sup></u> day of <u>August</u>, 2021

READ: A Third time and finally passed this 30th day of August, 2021

REEVE

CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER