P.O. Box 6960, Wetaskiwin, AB T9A 2G5



County of Wetaskiwin No. 10

Phone: 780-352-3321 Fax: 780-352-3486 www.county.wetaskiwin.ab.ca

Strong Proactive Leadership • Safe Progressive Communities

August 4, 2020

Dear County of Wetaskiwin Residents and Businesses,

RE: Potential Municipal Tax Increase Due to Provincial Oil & Gas Assessment Changes

I am writing each resident and business owner in the County of Wetaskiwin to inform them of a proposal the Government of Alberta is considering that would change the assessment model for oil and gas wells and pipelines. While we understand that these changes are intended to enhance the competitiveness of the oil and gas industry, they will have serious ramifications and potentially extreme negative consequences on the sustainability of our municipality and smaller businesses in the industry.

While most properties (like yours and mine) are assessed based on their market value, oil and gas wells and pipelines are assessed based on several regulatory factors. The Government of Alberta is proposing a model that would manipulate these factors to hide a tax cut for the largest 4% of oil and gas companies. If this occurs, residents and other commercial property owners will be responsible for subsidizing a property tax break for the oil and gas industry. Changing the assessment model is inequitable and unfair, as it places the entire burden for an industrial tax break onto municipalities, without a guarantee that savings would be reinvested in Alberta. Worst of all, the provincial government has provided no evidence linking assessment reductions to competitiveness enhancements in the industry.

Please see the attached fact sheet for more information about how these changes will affect the County. If you are as concerned as I am about these changes, please contact our local MLAs, Minister of Municipal Affairs and the Premier. Provincial contact information is available on the back of this letter.

Thank you for your support,

To Vando frest

Terry Van de Kraats

Reeve

Provincial Contact Information:

Name/ Title	Phone	Email
Honourable Jason Kenney, Premier	780-427-2251	premier@gov.ab.ca
Honourable Kaycee Madu, Minister of Municipal Affairs	780-427-3744	minister.municipalaffairs@gov.ab.ca
Honourable Rick Wilson, Minister of Indigenous Relations, MLA for Maskwacîs-Wetaskiwin	780-422-4144	ir.ministeroffice@gov.ab.ca Maskwacis.Wetaskiwin@assembly.ab.ca
Honourable Jason Nixon, Minister of Environment and Parks, MLA for Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House- Sundre	780-427-2391	aep.minister@gov.ab.ca Rimbey.RockyMountainhouse.Sundre@assembly.ab.ca