

County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 Municipal Policy

Department: Policy No.

12.1 Employee Relations

12.1.17

Title Administration Building Security and Access

1. Policy Statement:

1.1. The intent of this policy is to identify which employees require access to the Administration Building and when the employees and Council require that access.

2. Responsibilities:

2.1. A keyless entry system is used by designated employees and Council. Positions which have been identified as requiring access to the Administration Building and when that access is required is described in Schedule 'A'.

3. Guidelines:

3.1. **Keyless Entry**

3.1.1. Doors to the Administration Building will open using the keyless entry system during the following hours:

Door	Level 1	Level 2	Level 3	Level 4
Front	8:30 am - 4:30 pm (unlocked with key)			
Coffee Room	24/7	7:00 am-7:00 pm	7:30 am-7:00 pm	7:30 am-7:00 pm
East Wing	24/7	7:00 am-7:00 pm	7:30 am-7:00 pm	None
South Wing	24/7	7:00 am-7:00 pm	7:30 am-7:00 pm	None
West Wing	24/7	24/7	7:30 am-7:00 pm	None
North Wing	Emergency Exit ONLY			
Council	24/7	7:30 am-7:00 pm	7:30 am-7:00 pm	7:30 am-7:00 pm

3.1.2. Employees requiring access to the Administration Building during non-regular office hours shall make arrangements with their immediate supervisor for such access.

3.2. **Keys**

- 3.2.1. In emergent situations such as power failure, the following positions have been designated as requiring keys to the Administration Building:
 - ASB Foreman
 - Assistant Chief Administrative Officer
 - Chief Administrative Officer
 - Community Peace Officer(s)
 - Custodian
 - Director of Agricultural Services
- Director of Emergency Services
- Manger of Information Services
- Director of Public Works
- Information Services Support Staff
- Public Works Manager of Operations

Administrative Review	Policy Committee	Council Revised	Council Approved	Page
DM20211208.004	December 14 2021	CG20200430.007	CG20090908.1024	1 of 3
		CG20220503.055		

County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 Municipal Policy				
Department:	Policy No.	Title		
12.1 Employee Relations	12.1.17	Administration Building Security and Access		

3.3. Security Codes

- 3.3.1. The following positions have been designated as requiring security access codes to the Administration Building (assigned with Level 1 or 2 access):
- ASB Foreman
- Assistant Chief Administrative Officer
- Bylaw/Animal Control
- Chief Administrative Officer
- Communications Officer
- Community Peace Officer(s)
- Custodian
- Development Officer
- Director of Agricultural Services
- Director of Assessment
- Director of Emergency Services
- Director of Finance
- Utility Foreman

- Manager of Information Services
- Director of JEDI
- Director of Leisure & Community Services
- Director of Planning & Economic Development
- Director of Public Works
- Horticulturist
- Information Services Support Staff
- Public Works Manager of Operations
- Recreation Facilities Foreman
- Public Works Operations Foreman
- Road Maintenance Foreman
- Sustainable Agriculture Coordinator

3.4. Delegated Authority

- 3.4.1. The CAO has been delegated the authority to determine what Level each position is placed in.
- 3.4.2. The responsibility to authorize keyless entry system access has been delegated to the Director of Information Services.
- 3.4.3. The responsibility to authorize keys and security access codes has been delegated to the Director of Agricultural Services.

Administrative Review	Policy Committee	Council Revised	Council Approved	Page
DM20211208.004	December 14 2021	CG20200430.007	CG20090908.1024	2 of 3
	March 22, 2022	CG20220503.055		

County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 Municipal Policy			
Department:	Policy No.	Title	
12.1 Employee Relations	12.1.17	Administration Building Security and Access	

Schedule "A"

The following list describes the positions that have been identified as requiring access to the Administration Building and when that access is required:

Level 1: Unlimited Access to all doors throughout the Administration Building 24 hours per day

Director of Agricultural Services

Custodian

Level 2: Access with a keyless access code to all doors from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m., Monday to Friday and the West Wing door anytime.

- ASB Foreman
- Assistant Chief Administrative Officer
- Bylaw/Animal Control
- Chief Administrative Officer
- Communications Officer
- Community Peace Officer(s)
- Custodian
- Development Officer
- Director of Agricultural Services
- Director of Assessment
- Director of Emergency Services
- Director of Finance
- Utility Foreman

- Manager of Information Services
- Director of JEDI
- Director of Leisure & Community Services
- Director of Planning & Economic Development
- Director of Public Works
- Horticulturist
- Information Services Support Staff
- Manager of Public Works Operations
- Recreation Facilities Foreman
- Public Works Operations Foreman
- Road Maintenance Foreman
- Sustainable Agriculture Coordinator

Level 3: Access without a keyless access code to all doors from 7:30 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. Monday to Friday, excluding Statutory Holidays.

- Accountant
- Accounts Payable
- Accounts Receivable/Utilities Clerk
- Administrative Assistant(s)
- Assessor
- Assistant Development Officer(s)
- Executive Assistant

- JEDI Office Manager
- Municipal Intern(s)
- Pavroll
- Planning & Development Technologist
- Any operations staff, as approved by the Director of Public Works or Director of Agricultural Services

Level 4: Access to Council door (South Wing) and Coffee Room door, 7:30 a.m. until 7:00 p.m., Monday to Friday excluding Statutory Holidays.

Council

Administrative Review	Policy Committee	Council Revised	Council Approved	Page
DM20211208.004	December 14 2021	CG20200430.007	CG20090908.1024	3 of 3
	March 22, 2022	CG20220503.055		